Nitish Kumar

 Hon'ble Chief Minister 

Gupteshwar Pandey


"Live Webcast of Visit of Hon'ble Home Minister of India to NPM on on the occasion of Police Commemoration Day Parade,2019 at Chankyapuri, New Delhi"

बिहार पुलिस का विशिष्ट झण्डा एवं प्रतीक चिह्न एवं विजन डॉकयुमेंट के संबंध मे | (तिथि विस्तार)   

CM Relief Fund


Policing in Bihar is more than 3000 years old. In fact, there are documented historical references to policing practices adopted by the Magadh Empire.

Policing in the Modern era in Bihar began in the year 1862 with the introduction of the Indian Police Act of 1861. Following the creation of the province of Bihar in 1912, the basic structure of police as it exists today in the whole of India was laid. There have been several officers of the Bihar province in pre-independence India who have made pioneering contributions to policing in India. To name a few; Mr. Walter Swain of Swain Beat system fame, Shri AK Sinha, the first Indian to become an IGP of any province, Shri BN Mullick, the founder of the Intelligence Bureau and Deputy Superintendent of Police, Khan Bahadur Azizul Haque, credited with the primary development of the fingerprint classification system, the famous ‘1024 pigeon holes’ cabinet system eventually named after his supervisor, Sir Edward Richard Henry leaps readily to the mind.

Post-independence, Bihar Police holds the legacy of a rich tradition with the introduction of innovative policing and welfare practices such as creation of a Police Welfare fund, Police Hospitals and Police Information Room (PIR) in 1952. A Police Commission was also set up in 1958, whose mandate was to bring the police closer to the people. The Bihar Policemen’s Association which came into existence in 1967 was the first of its kind to look after the interests of the policemen. Today, Bihar police, with the cooperation of the people that it is mandated to serve and its rich traditions of excellence is firmly committed to confront and surmount the numerous challenges it faces.

स्पोर्ट्स कोटा के अंतर्गत विज्ञापन संख्या-01/2018  पुलिस अवर निरीक्षक भर्ती एवं विज्ञापन संख्या- 02/2018 सिपाही भर्ती हेतु प्राप्त आवेदन पत्रों की स्क्रूटनी के पश्चात तैयार मास्टर चार्ट | चार्ट-1 (Sub-Inspector) चार्ट-2 (Constable)    
Sri Gupteshwar Pandey
D.G.P. 0612-2294301/02
Sri Jitendra Kumar
A.D.G.[HQ] 0612-2294303/04
Sri Amit Kumar
A.D.G.[L&O] 0612-2294317
Sri Nayyar H Khan
I.G.[HQ] 0612-2294306/08
Sri Sushil M Khopde
I.G.[OPERATION] 0612-2294305
Sri Nayyar H Khan
I.G.[PROVISION] 0612-2294310
Sri Raman Kumar Chaudhary
A.I.G.[W] 0612-2294313
Sri Vivekanand
A.I.G.[Q] 0612-2294039
DGP Office
E-mail ID
FAX No. 0612-2217877, 2294321, 2294322
Economics Offence Unit
Bihar Police Week 2018.
Election Commission of India


This website is updated as on:  Every effort is being made to update the information periodically. In case,any discrepancy is found in the content of this website,  this may kindly be brought to the notice of the Office of Director General of Police, Bihar(E-mail- Any Suggestion to further improve upon the website is most welcome.